About Me

My name is Julia. I grew up in the Mormon Church, known officially as The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. For the past several years (really my entire life) I have been learning more and more about the Church's history and it's truth claims. This is a website in which I hope to store my findings. I don't seek to argue or to tear the church down. I seek to ask the hard questions even if no answer can be reasonably found. 

If there are additional topics you'd like to see discussed and sourced that are not currently on the website, please reach out to me! To share your story, feedback, constructive criticism on my findings -really anything, please feel free to email me! 

julia@analyzingmormonism.com

She Became Visible

I got to be featured on the podcast She Became Visible with René. So, if you wanted to learn a little bit more about me, this is now out there in the world.

Background

 
Childhood 

I was raised in the Church in a small town in Southwest Missouri. My maternal grandparents converted to the Church in Cape Town, South Africa and immigrated to Salt Lake City to be with the saints. My paternal grandparents have been members of the Church for as long as there has been a Church. My parents divorced when I was young and my dad remarried shortly after, blending two rather large families. I grew up as the fourth of fourteen children.

 

BYU-Idaho 

I earned my Bachelor's Degree in English, literature with an emphasis in Creative Writing. I also minored in Marriage and Family Relations.

 

Mission

I served an eighteen month mission for the Church shortly after I graduated from BYU-I. I was called to the Salt Lake City South Mission which was later formed (in part) into the Salt Lake City East Mission where I spent the remainder of my time. I spent most of my time in Sandy, Park City, and Holladay as well as Green River, Wyoming.

 

Marriage/Coming Out

I married in the temple quickly after I returned from my mission. Six years later, I came out as gay and my husband and I separated. Together we have one daughter. I am currently dating a woman.

© Copyright. All rights reserved.

We need your consent to load the translations

We use a third-party service to translate the website content that may collect data about your activity. Please review the details and accept the service to view the translations.